ECP issues final list of contesting candidates for Senate elections

ECP issues final list of contesting candidates for Senate elections


ISLAMABAD, Pakistan: The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) on Saturday issued final list of contesting candidates for the upcoming Senate elections, according to which 131 candidates are in the run for polls.

The Senate elections are scheduled to be held March 5 to elect 52 news lawmakers for the 104-member upper house of the parliament.

List of contesting candidates for Senate election 2015

The final list of candidates issued by the ECP states that 16 candidates are contesting from Punjab, 12 from Sindh, 32 from Balochistan and 27 from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa.

Similarly, eight candidates would be contesting against two seats from Islamabad and 36 from the Federally Administrated Tribal Areas (FATA) against four seats.

The ECP said that 84 candidates would be contesting Senate elections against general seats, 21 against seats reserved for women, and 18 against seats reserved for Ulema and technocrats.

Likewise, eight candidates are in the field to contest seats reserved for non-Muslims.

Meanwhile, four candidates for Senate elections have been elected unopposed from Sindh.

They include Farooq H. Naek of the Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) and Muhammad Ali Saif of the Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM) against seats reserved for technocrats and Sassi Palijo of PPP and Nighat Mirza of MQM against seats reserved for women.

Asad Haroon
Asad Haroon
A netpreneur, blogger and above all; A Human :) Asad tweets from @aghaasadharoon and can also be approached on Google+

Must read

Latest article