No drone strikes during talks with Taliban; US assures Pakistan

North AmericaNo drone strikes during talks with Taliban; US assures Pakistan

ISLAMABAD: The United States has assured Pakistan that it will not carry out any missile strike during proposed peace talks between the Pakistani government and Taliban insurgents.

This was revealed by Prime Minister’s advisor on foreign affairs and national security Sartaj Aziz at a meeting of Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs which met with its Chairman Haji Adeel in the chair in Islamabad on Wednesday.


Aziz said that the United States has been informed that drone strike that killed Tehrik-i-Taliban (TTP) chief Hakimullah Mehsud has disrupted negotiations with the Taliban. He further said that the US has been asked not to attack the Taliban during the dialogue process.

The advisor told the committee that a three-member committee was to meet Pakistani Taliban leader the day he was killed in US missile strike earlier this month.

Must read

Recent News

PTI calls past two years darkest, most catastrophic in history of Pakistan

Country plunge into worst political, economic instability through regime change conspiracy: PTI Spokesperson Hints at launching a decisive movement to reclaim public...

Interbank Dollar Rate Today in Pakistan – 9 April 2024

Interbank Exchange Rates in Pakistan The Interbank Closing Exchange Rate in Pakistan has been issued by the State Bank of Pakistan (SBP) for April 09,...

Pakistan Squad for T20I Series against New Zealand

LAHORE, Pakistan: Uncapped middle-order batter Muhammad Irfan Khan and flamboyant opener Usman Khan have been named in the 17-player Pakistan men’s cricket team for...

PM Shahbaz announces to expand network of Danish School System

ISLAMABAD, Pakistan: Prime Minister Shahbaz Sharif has announced to expand the network of Danish School System to Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, Balochistan, Gilgit Baltistan and Azad...

PPP’s Syed Yusuf Raza Gilani elected as Chairman Senate

ISLAMABAD, Pakistan: Syed Yusuf Raza Gilani of Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) and Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz’s (PML-N) Sardar Saidal Khan Nasar were elected as the...