CPEC under scrutiny; PM Imran Khan constitutes a committee

ISLAMABAD, Pakistan: Prime Minister Imran Khan has constituted three Cabinet Committees namely the Cabinet Committee on China-Pakistan Economic Corridor (CCoCPEC), the Cabinet Committee on Energy (CCoE), and the Cabinet Committee on Privatization (CCoP).


The notifications of the formation of three Cabinet Committees on CPEC, Energy and Privatization have been issued by the Cabinet Division.

In the nine-member CCoCPEC, the Federal Minister for Planning, Development and Reform Makhdoom Khusro Bakhtiar has been made the Chairman.

Other members of the Cabinet Committee on CPEC include the Minister for Foreign Affairs Shah Mahmood Qureshi, the Minister for Law & Justice Farogh Naseem, the Minister for Finance, Revenue & Economic Affairs Asad Umar, the Minister for Petroleum Ghulam Sarwar Khan, the Minister for Railways Sheikh Rasheed Ahmed, the Minister of State for Interior Shehryar Afridi, the Adviser to the Prime Minister on Commerce, Textile, Industry & Production and Investment Abdul Razaq Dawood, and the Cabinet Secretary Fazal Abbas Maken.CPEC under scrutiny; PM Imran Khan constitutes a committee

The Cabinet Committee on CCoCPEC shall have the following Terms of Reference (TORs);

  • To periodically review work program of all Working Groups of CPEC;
  • To resolve inter-ministerial issues and ensure timely completion of approved projects;
  • To develop and implement integrated approach on Long Term Plan of CPEC, with special focus on investment and industrial development; and
  • To approve the agenda of Joint Cooperation Committee (JCCs) of CPEC and monitoring the implementation of decisions of JCCs.

Besides the CCoCPEC, the prime minister also constituted the six-member Cabinet Committee on Energy (CCoE) and the seven-member Cabinet Committee on Privatization (CCoP).

Mati-Ullah is the Online Editor For DND. He is the real man to handle the team around the Country and get news from them and provide to you instantly.

Must read

Latest article