Taliban announces new government in Afghanistan led by Mullah Abdul Hassan Akhunda

Afghan Taliban Spokesman Zabihullah Mujahid

KABUL, Afghanistan: The Afghan Taliban Spokesman Zabihullah Mujahid on Tuesday announced the formation of a new interim government in Afghanistan.


While addressing a Press Conference in Kabul, Zabihullah Mujahid said that Mullah Abdul Hassan Akhunda will head the Islamic Emirate of Afghanistan as the Prime Minister while Mullah Abdul Ghani Baradar will be his Deputy.

The Taliban Spokesman announced that Mullah Yaqoob will serve as the Minister of Defence, Sirajuddin Haqqani as the Minister of Interior, and Mullah Amir Khan Muttaqi as the Minister of Foreign Affairs.

Likewise, Mullah Khairullah Khairkhwa will serve as the Minister of Information and Culture, Qari Din Mohammad Hanif as the Minister of Economics, Mullah Hidayatullah Badri as the Minister of Finance, Maulvi Abdul Hakeem Sharae as the Minister of Justice, Noorullah Noori as the Minister of Border Areas and Tribal Affairs, and Zabihullah Mujahid as the Spokesperson and Assistant to the Information & Culture Minister.

Qari Fasihuddin Badakhshani has been appointed as the Chief of the Afghanistan Army, Mullah Abdul Haq Waseeq as the Director Intelligence, Haji Mohammad Idrees as the Director Central Bank, and Maulvi Ahmed Jan as the Director Administrative Affairs.

Zabihullah Mujahid said that Haibatullah Akhundzada will be the Ameer-ul-Momineen, and he will guide and supervise the Islamic Emirate government.

Must read

Latest article