2nd phase of Punjab LB polls: Polling in Punjab’s 12 districts on November 19

LAHORE, Pakistan: The second phase of local body elections will be held in 12 districts of the Punjab province on November 19 under strict security.


According to the Election Commission of Pakistan, as many as 14,585,822 voters from Attock, Chiniot, Gujranwala, Hafizabad, Sheikhupura, Jhelum, Khanewal, Mandi Bahauddin, Mianwali, Sahiwal, Toba Tek Singh and Sargodha will cast their votes.

The ECP has formed 9,011 constituencies, including 1,102 union councils for direct elections, 6,602 wards within union councils, 64 municipal committees, 1,297 wards in municipal committees in the 12 districts.

The district returning officers (DROs), returning officers (ROs) and assistant returning officers (AROs) have already been appointed by the ECP.

As many as 12 DROs, 234 ROs and 468 AROs will supervise the election process while 11,906 presiding officers, 70,400 APOs and 35,200 polling officers will be responsible to hold elections.

The voters will cast their votes at 35,200 polling booths of 11,906 polling stations.

According to the Punjab Local Government (Amendment) Ordinance 2015, a union council shall have a directly elected chairman and a vice-chairman as joint candidates, and six councillors on general seats – one each from a ward. These members can contest polls either on party tickets or as independent candidates.

The electorates will only vote for the panel of a chairman and one general councillor from their respective ward. Once elected, the general members will elect two female members, one worker, a youth and a non-Muslim member for their wards.

Source: APP

Mati-Ullah is the Online Editor For DND. He is the real man to handle the team around the Country and get news from them and provide to you instantly.

Must read

Latest article